It became a vicious cycle. I’d fall in love with so many fabulous trends in my favorite stores, only to wear them several times and discard. The evolution of fast fashion has dramatically changed how we shop. Designer items we covet in magazines are being reproduced at a rather alarming rate in stores like Zara, Topshop and H&M for a fraction of the price. In fact, it takes Zara only 10 to 15 days to take a product from an idea to its stores. I was naive and thought that this was the best thing that could ever happen to a fashion fanatic like myself. But I soon learned that you get what you pay for.
 

Zara

 
Please don’t get me wrong. I absolutely love the stores I just mentioned above, but I love them for certain reasons. They are ideal for trying out a new trend or experimenting with different styles. When your whole wardrobe becomes taken over by these purchases, well, you might just see it differently then. When I noticed that I was making more trips to Goodwill or even simply tossing out pieces that had fallen apart, I knew I had to make a change.
 
While I still do incorporate pieces from Zara, I’ve also started to branch out to more sophisticated designers that will last me a lifetime. Investing in essential, timeless pieces is the key to a great wardrobe. No one has taught me this better than Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen. Their label The Row was founded on these principles, and I think they are beginning to revolutionize the way we dress and the way we shop.
 

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen

 
The way I’ve started to look at shopping is modeled after my personal life: invest in something worthwhile and don’t jump at the easiest choice. If something is important to you, make the time and the effort and it will be more meaningful in the end.
 
-Jen